Board of Management

The Board of Management of Christ King Girls' Secondary School

The Board of Management (the Board) is a body corporate established by the Patron* under the Education Act 1998, which manages the school on behalf of the Patron and discharges the respective functions of the Board and of the school as these are set out in the Act.

Under to the Patron, the Board has charge of the overall management of the school. The Board is the employer of all staff at the school. Under the Board, the Principal has charge of the day-to-day management of the school.

The Board of Management as presently constituted took up office in October 2019 and is scheduled to serve a term of three years. The following are the members of the Board:

  • Ms. Margaret McCormack, Chair (Nominee of the Patron*)
  • Dr. Niamh Dennehy (Nominee of the Patron*)
  • Mr. Pat Hurley (Nominee of the Patron*)
  • Mr. Cian Cotter B.L. (Nominee of the Patron*)
  • Ms. Maria O Callaghan (Nominee of the Teachers)
  • Ms. Emma Looney (Nominee of the Teachers)
  • Ms. Deirdre Scully (Nominee of the Parents)
  • Ms. Gráinne Carroll (Nominee of the Parents)
  • Ms. R. Long, the Principal, is ex officio Secretary to the Board

Please click on the links below to view the Agreed Reports of Christ King Secondary School Board of Management:

We wish to thank the members of our Board for their continued commitment to the school and their interest in ensuring Christ King Girls' Secondary School continues to grow and prosper into the future.

The Board operates under the Education Act, 1998, and other relevant legislation, the Articles of Management for Catholic Secondary Schools, such other regulations, directives and/or guidelines issued from time to time by the Minister and/or the Department of Education and Skills and always in accordance with the values and vision set out in the Charter, a core document issued by the Patron for the guidance of all associated with the respective schools.

The Board of a Catholic Secondary School has eight members, four nominated by the Patron, two by the parents and two by the teachers. All these nominees are appointed to the Board by the Patron. The Chair of the Board is appointed by the Patron from amongst its four nominees. The Principal acts as Secretary to the Board. The Principal has no voting privileges at Board meetings. The Secretary shall act as the correspondent for the Board unless, in special circumstances, the Board shall determine otherwise.

*The Patron of the school is Catholic Education, an Irish School Trust (CEIST), a company limited by guarantee with charitable status to which various religious congregations – including the Presentation Sisters – have transferred ownership in trust of more than 107 secondary schools.

You may contact the Board by writing to Ms. R. Long, Principal and Secretary to the Board at the school. Requests for the inclusion of any additional items on the agenda must reach the Secretary a minimum of three days before the meeting.

South Douglas Road, Cork, Co. Cork, Ireland.
021 496 1448
© 2022 Christ King Girls' Secondary School