Christ King Girls' Secondary School

School Calendar 2019-20

1 Back to school arrangements:

Monday 26th August

1st Year 9:30 – 12:30 pm

Staff Meeting 13:35 – 15:35pm

Tuesday 27th August

3rd & 6th Year 8:50 – 11:00 am

Staff Meeting 11:35 – 15:35pm

Wednesday 28th August

2nd, 5th Year 8:50 – 11:00 am

Staff Meeting 11:30 – 13:05pm

Thursday 29th August

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 5th & 6th Year 8:50 – 13:00pm

Transition Year Induction 11:00 – 13:00pm

Staff Meeting 13:30 – 15:35pm

Friday 20th August

1st, 2nd, 3rd, TY, 5th & 6th Year 8:50 – 13:00pm

Staff Meeting 13:30 – 15:35pm

2. Student Assessments:

1st Year:

  1. 3 Classroom Assessments pre-Christmas in each subject.
  2. Continuous assessment up to final summer examination.

2nd Year:

  1. Please see Classroom Based Assessment Calendar enclosed.
  2. Continuous assessment up to final summer examination.

3rd Year:

  1. Please see Classroom Based Assessment & Assessment Task Calendar enclosed.
  2. Continuous assessment up to final summer examination.
  3. Pre examinations commencing week of 03/02/20 to 14/02/20.
  4. Practical examinations, dates determined by State Examination Commission.

Transition Year:

  1. Continuous assessment up to mid-year examinations commencing week of 27th January 2020.
  2. Summer examinations Thursday 14th, Friday 15th and Monday 18th May 2020.

5th Year:

  1. Continuous and Christmas assessment reported at Christmas.
  2. Continuous assessment up to final summer examination.

6th Year:

  1. Continuous assessment reported at Christmas.
  2. Pre examinations commencing week of 03/02/20 to 14/02/20.
  3. Practical and oral examinations, dates determined by State Examination Commission.

Leaving Certificate & Junior Certificate Examinations commencing on Wednesday 3rd June 2020.

3. Year Group Meetings:

1st Year:

Tuesday 10th March 2020

    1. Subject Skills parent presentation 3:45 – 4:15pm
    2. Parent Teacher Meeting 4:15-6:45pm

2nd Year:

Tuesday 3rd December 2019

    1. Assessment at Junior Cycle parent presentation 3:45 – 4:15pm
    2. Parent Teacher Meeting 4:15-6:45pm

3rd Year:

Thursday 19th November 2019

    1. Assessment at Junior Cycle parent presentation 3:45 – 4:15pm
    2. Parent Teacher Meeting 4:15-6:45pm

Transition Year:

Thursday 6th February 2020

    1. Senior Cycle Subject Choice parent presentation 3:45-4:15pm
    2. Parent Teacher Meeting 4:15-6:45pm

5th Year:

Thursday 23rd January 2020

    1. Study Skills at senior cycle parent presentation 3:45 – 4:15pm
    2. Parent Teacher Meeting 4:15-6:45pm

6th Year:

Tuesday 22nd October 2019

    1. CAO Information parent presentation 3:45 – 4:15pm
    2. Parent Teacher Meeting 4:15-6:45pm

4. Parent Information Sessions:

Transition Year September 2020: Parents’ Information Session Tuesday 25th February at 6:30pm.

First Years September 2020: Parents’ Information Session Wednesday 18th March at 12:00 – 14:00pm.

5. Transition Year Dates:

Work Experience: Week One commencing Monday 3rd February 2020

Work Experience: Week Two commencing Monday 10th February 2020

Transition Year Graduation Ceremony: Tuesday 19th May at 13:30pm

6. School Closures:

Thursday 5th December 2019Junior Cycle Teacher Development day.

Tuesday 4th February 2020 Junior Cycle Whole School Development day

(Both of the above days are compulsory school closures dates as determined by the Department of Education and Skills)

Monday 16th March 2020: School Closure.

Events
No events found
16-Sep-2019
Welcome to the wonderful world of Christ King through the lens of our students. We asked the girls to tell us and show us what they loved most about our learning school
06-Sep-2019
Christ King Open Night will take place on Thursday September 19th from 6pm - 8pm.
Enquire
Contact
Christ King Girls' Secondary School
South Douglas Road,
Cork,
Co. Cork,
Ireland

021 496 1448

Location
© 2019 Christ King Girls' Secondary School